Current News

News Archive

January 27, 2016

Winner of the 2016 Driehaus Prize Announced

Seaside Interfaith Chapel

Congratulations to architect Scott Merrill who has won the 2016 University of Notre Dame’s Richard H. Driehaus Prize. Merrill is a graduate of Yale School of Architecture and the founder and principal designer of Merrill, Pastor & Colgan Architects.

The prize’s chairman and the dean of Notre Dame’s school of architecture, Michael Lykoudis, said, “Scott Merrill has demonstrated how the principles of classicism can be used as a foundation for designing buildings that respond to and express regional character while employing the richness of precedents found throughout the ages, including our own.”

Established in 2003 by Chicago-based Driehaus Capital Management founder, chairman, and chief investment officer Richard H. Driehaus, the prize is awarded to a living architect whose work exemplifies the values of traditional and classical architecture in a contemporary built environment, and creates a positive cultural, environmental, and artistic impact. Read more on Art Forum


< Back to overview

Sign up for e-News

Stay up to date with the latest news and programs from the Driehaus Museum. Click here to subscribe